Mayor McFarlane Backs Chaudhuri for State Senate

Cites Chaudhuri’s focus on creating opportunity for everyone

RALEIGH, N.C. – Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane today announced her endorsement of Democrat Jay Chaudhuri for State Senate in District 16. McFarlane said she looks forward to working with Chaudhuri to improve economic opportunities in the area.

"Jay Chaudhuri will fight for a North Carolina that works for all of us," said Mayor McFarlane. "He will work to improve public education, reduce inequality, and create more opportunities for all North Carolinians. I'm supporting Jay in the March 15 Democratic primary because he has the right values for Raleigh, and I look forward to working with him to move the region forward."

In October, McFarlane was re-elected to her third term with 75 percent of the votes in Raleigh.

“I’m honored to have Mayor McFarlane’s support,” said Chaudhuri. “She has worked hard to make Raleigh one of the best cities in the country. I look forward to working with her and with elected officials at all levels of government to improve lives in my district and across the state.”

Chaudhuri has worked for Attorney General Roy Cooper and State Treasurer Janet Cowell. As General Counsel to Cowell, Chaudhuri helped establish a $230 million Innovation Fund dedicated to supporting and investing in North Carolina businesses. He also served on the board of the Raleigh Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources Department, where he advised on the city’s twenty-year plan for parks and the Moore Square Master Plan.

McFarlane joins eight current and past elected officials from State Senate District 16 in endorsing Chaudhuri for the March 15 Democratic primary: State Treasurer Janet Cowell, State Rep. Gale Adcock, Wake County Commissioner John Burns, Wake County Commissioner Sig Hutchinson, former Raleigh City Council Member Rodger Koopman, former Raleigh City Council Member Randy Stagner, Morrisville Town Council Member Steve Rao and former Morrisville Mayor Margaret Broadwell.


Jay Chaudhuri is running in the March 15 Democratic primary election to represent District 16 in the North Carolina State Senate. To learn more, please visit



Stay Connected